Riverside Slip and Fall Accident Lawyers have been winning cases for our clients at Bisnar Chase for over 45 years. With an established 99% success rate, we have won over $800 million in settlements and cases.
Slip, trip, and fall accidents may not seem or sound dangerous, and some people are lucky to get away with a bruise or a scratch; however, too often, trip and fall accidents have the potential to result in serious or even catastrophic injuries.
Understand your legal rights and options if you have been injured in a slip, trip, or fall accident in the Inland Empire. The Riverside Personal Injury Attorneys of Bisnar Chase can provide a free consultation and case review to discuss your situation and case.
If you need legal help, don’t wait. Call us now at 951-530-3711 to set up your free case review. Lawyers for slip and falls in California offer a contingency fee-based payment structure so that you do not pay upfront and will only pay at the end of the case when it settles.
Questions to ask your lawyer for slip and fall injuries when meeting
- How much are most slip and fall settlements?
- How long does a slip and fall claim take to settle?
- Do you have experience with slip and fall lawsuits?
- How is slip and fall compensation calculated?
- What are the attorney’s fees in a fall injury case?
- How long do I have to report a slip and fall in California?
These are all critical questions to ask the law firm before you hire them to ensure you feel satisfied with the answers and how they handle their slip and fall cases.
Riverside Slip and Fall
What is the Average Settlement in a Slip and Fall Case in California?
According to our experience handling slip and fall injury claims, the average settlement ranges between $7,500 and $65,000.00, depending on the extent of the property owner’s negligence and the injuries sustained in the accident.
We’ve also seen 7- and 8-figure settlements for falls that cause significant damage and injury to the plaintiff.
Typical damages in a slip and fall case
- Severity of the injury. Broken bones, head injuries, and major back injuries are typical injuries in a slip and fall and vary in severity.
- Liability of the plaintiff. If you are found partially responsible for your fall, the amount you receive can be reduced because of shared negligence.
- Insurance policy limits. The defendant’s insurance coverage caps compensation, so cases with higher policy limits are paid more.
- Medical bills. Injured plaintiffs are entitled to have their medical expenses paid related to the trip and fall.
- Pain and suffering. More severe injuries lead to higher pain and suffering payouts.
How Long Do You Have to Report a Slip and Fall in California?
In California, the statute of limitations to file a slip and fall lawsuit is two years from the date of the accident or injury. This means plaintiffs generally have two years from the slip and fall incident to report it and take legal action before the right to sue expires.
Some key things to note about the 2-year statute of limitations for slip and fall cases in California are:
- The clock starts running on the date the injury occurred, not when it was discovered.
- The two years for minors injured in a trip or fall do not begin until they reach age 18.
- If the slip and fall occurred on government property, a governmental claim must first be filed, and then a lawsuit can be filed within six months of the claim being rejected.
- If the injury worsens over time, the statute of limitations resets to 2 years from the date the plaintiff knew or should have known about the new injury or worsening.
- In cases of wrongful death resulting from a slip and fall, families generally also have two years to file a lawsuit from the date of death.
- The statute of limitations can be “tolled” or paused under certain conditions, like if the defendant leaves the state.
To preserve the right to sue and recover damages, it is important to report slips and falls quickly and seek experienced legal counsel to file a claim within the 2-year window in California. Letting this deadline pass can destroy any chance of obtaining compensation. Contact a Riverside slip and fall lawyer to see if you have a qualifying case.
How Long Does It Take to Settle a California Slip and Fall Case?
There is no set timeframe for settling a slip and fall case in California. The time it takes to settle can vary considerably based on the unique circumstances of each case.
- Simple, low-value cases with minimal injuries may settle in 6–12 months. These often settle before a lawsuit is even filed.
- Typical cases with moderate injuries often take 12–18 months to settle. Much depends on how long it takes to complete your medical treatment and establish compensation correctly.
- Complex cases involving serious injuries, extensive medical treatment, large losses, and disputed liability can take 2+ years to settle.
- If a slip and fall lawsuit is filed, the case timeline extends by 6–12 months on average. The discovery process and motions drag out the timeline.
- Cases that go to trial can take over two years to resolve when you factor in court scheduling delays.
- The parties’ willingness to negotiate also impacts the timeline. Insurance companies and trained insurance adjusters often drag their feet to avoid a payout and use stall tactics to force a settlement for an injured victim in desperate need of money.
- California’s mediation and arbitration programs aim to expedite trip-and-fall settlements within months.
Common Slip and Fall Injuries
- Head injuries and concussions
- Neck and back injuries
- Fractured or broken bones
- Soft tissue damage like strains and sprains in muscles
- Ligaments and tendon damage
- Spinal cord injuries
- Bruises and cuts
- In extreme cases, permanent disability or even death
- The owner or an employee caused the dangerous condition.
- The owner of the premises or the employee knew or should have known about the dangerous condition but did nothing to rectify it.
- The negligence resulted in injuries to a tenant, visitor, or guest.
- The injuries caused the victim physical, emotional, and financial losses.
Slip and Fall Statistics in California
The slip and fall statistics provided here for California are based on research across aggregated data sources, including:
The National Floor Safety Institute (NFSI)
The National Safety Council (NSC)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
California Department of Public Health
California Workers’ Compensation Institute (CWCI)
The insurance industry reports on liability claims and settlements
- Around 16,000 hospital emergency room visits annually in California are attributed to slip and fall injuries. (CDC)
- Slip, trip, and fall accidents are the leading cause of workers’ compensation claims in CA, accounting for over 15% of all occupational injuries. (CWCI)
- In CA, the rate of fatal slip and fall accidents in older adults over 65 is nearly four times the national average. Falls are a leading cause of injury deaths among seniors. (CDPH)
- The most common locations for slips and falls are public sidewalks and commercial establishments like restaurants and retail stores. (NSC)
- Over 50% of slip and fall injuries occur due to hazards that could have been identified and removed, such as wet floors, cluttered walkways, and poor lighting. (NFSI)
- The average cost of a slip and fall liability claim paid out by insurers in CA is around $17,000. More serious injuries can lead to settlements in the millions. (NII)
- Slip and fall claims against government entities account for around 25% of the premises liability claims against public property in the state. (NSC)
- Southern California sees about 25% more slip and fall injuries on average annually compared to Northern California.
As one of the most populous counties in California, Riverside likely sees thousands of premises liability claims each year related to slip, trip, and fall accidents in both public and private spaces. As of July 2022, the population in Riverside County is 2.5M people, with almost 16% being over 65 years old.
With a large senior population, Riverside’s premises liability claim rates are likely higher than state averages for injuries involving older adults. Falls are a leading cause of injury deaths for seniors.
Veterans make up about 114,000.00 residing in Riverside County; many are disabled and at risk for falls resulting in head injuries.
Can I Claim Compensation If I Fall at Home?
Yes, you may be able to claim compensation if you suffer injuries from a fall at home, but your eligibility will depend on the specific circumstances and who is liable for the accident.
- You probably won’t be able to seek compensation from anyone else if the fall resulted from unsafe conditions that you, as the homeowner or tenant, are responsible for, like clutter or a loose carpet. Falls caused by your own negligence are usually not compensable.
- If another negligent party caused the hazard leading to your fall, like a contractor failing to secure railings or a delivery person spilling liquid, In that case, you may be able to claim compensation from them or their insurance. Proving liability is key.
- If you fell due to a dangerous condition in a rented house or apartment that the landlord failed to repair in a reasonable time after being notified, you may have a premises liability claim against the property owner.
- If you fell due to a defective product in the home, like broken stairs or a malfunctioning floor, you may have a product liability claim against the manufacturer, installer, or builder.
- If you fell because of unsafe conditions while lawfully present on someone else’s property, you may have a premises liability lawsuit against the landowner.
- There is probably no one at fault to seek compensation from if your fall was the result of a transient hazard beyond anyone’s control, like a recent spill without warning.
To pursue a slip and fall claim, you’ll need evidence of liability, proof of unsafe conditions, medical records documenting injuries, and evidence of related damages. An experienced slip and fall attorney can best advise you on possible compensation options for your home fall accident.
The True Cost of Being Injured in a Premises Case
Premises liability injuries are not only painful, but they can also be very expensive to treat. Even victims with adequate health care insurance can expect to face mounting medical bills.
The cost of emergency services, surgeries, hospitalization, rehabilitation services and prescription drugs can add up very quickly.
For many, the cost of a serious injury does not end with the medical expenses. Individuals who have sustained a serious injury may have to miss work and some may never be able to return at full capacity.
Victims of slip-trip-and-fall accidents sometimes require modifications to their home to make daily activities easier, which can also prove extremely expensive.
Fall Accident Prevention
Property owners and managers have a duty and a legal responsibility to ensure their premises are safe for tenants, visitors, and guests. There are steps property owners can and should take to ensure that their premises are safe.
Wet surfaces are one of the most common causes of slip-and-trip accidents. Property owners should keep their floors clean and dry.
When the floor is wet, warning signs must be placed to warn visitors. All aisles and passageways must be kept clear of debris and other tripping hazards.
Broken stairs, bunched-up carpeting, and elevators not flush with the ground should be repaired. If a dangerous condition is not fixed, warning signs must be posted.
Owners must also provide proper lighting on their properties to prevent these accidents. In the case of shopping centers, escalators must be repaired and maintained to prevent trip-and-fall accidents.
What To Do If You Have Been Injured in a Trip and Fall?
If you are injured in a slip trip and fall accident because of a hazardous condition, take a moment to collect yourself once you have regained your composure.
- Try to determine if you have been injured and need medical attention.
- Collect as much information as possible from the scene of the incident.
- Report the incident to the property owner and/or person(s) on duty.
- Make sure you obtain a copy of the injury report.
- Get medical attention immediately, even if you don’t think you are hurt, and follow the doctor’s orders.
- Obtaining photographic evidence of the accident scene can prove invaluable. If you file a personal injury claim later, physical and visual evidence from the scene can help bolster your case.
- If you have a cell phone, take photos of the dangerous condition that caused your injuries. Take photographs of your injuries as well.
- If anyone witnessed the incident, obtain his or her contact information as well. Eyewitnesses can help validate your account of what occurred.
Contact Our Award-Winning Slip and Fall Attorneys in Riverside
If you have fallen and sustained an injury, you may be entitled to compensation if negligence can be proven in terms of the property owner and/or the on-duty staff.
With over 45 years serving both Riverside and the Inland Empire collectively and a 99% win rate for our clients, you have nothing to lose and so much to gain when you choose Bisnar Chase.
If we don’t win your case, you don’t pay. Call us at 951-530-3711 for a free consultation and case evaluation. Let our Riverside slip and fall lawyers evaluate your case for you.