ClickCease

(800) 561-4887

No Fee If We Don't Win

Do I have a case for my hit and run injury?

Free Case Evaluation - Our full time staff is ready to evaluate your case submission and will respond in a timely manner.

Orange County Hit and Run Lawyer

Orange County Hit and Run Lawyer

Contact Bisnar Chase to hire a top-rated Orange County hit-and-run lawyer. A hit and run can result in catastrophic injuries and often prove fatal. Our team works with victims and their families to ensure justice is done.

We represent people who have been injured in hit and run accidents in Orange County. Bisnar Chase has spent the last 45 years helping Orange County residents recover maximum compensation for their injuries. Our plaintiff hit and run attorneys are outstanding trial lawyers who have collected over $800 million in verdicts and settlements.

Questions you should ask when meeting with a lawyer

To make sure you get the best possible representation for your case, you should ask these pertinent questions when you meet with a lawyer

  • How much do you charge?
  • Do I have to pay upfront to be represented? 
  • What is your experience dealing with hit and run cases?
  • What is your success rate with these types of cases? 

Many people injured in hit and run accidents fail to call a lawyer after the accident because they believe it is pointless. But that is not always the case. A hit-and-run accident claim can be more difficult, but our attorneys are experts with an excellent track record.

Call our experienced Orange County personal injury attorneys today for a free consultation with no obligations if a hit and run driver has injured you or a loved one. Call (949) 203-3814 today.

Hit and Run Lawyer Near Me

How Much is a Hit and Run Accident Worth?

Although every case is different, a hit-and-run case could be worth a few thousand to seven and eight-figure verdicts or settlements. 

The average settlement varies depending on the severity of the injuries and other factors, such as the plaintiff’s age, occupation, and earning potential. However, according to a study by Jury Verdict Research, the median compensatory award for personal injury trials in California is $150,000.

It is important to note that these are just general factors that can affect the settlement amount in a California hit-and-run case. 

If you have been injured in a hit and run accident, it is essential to speak with an experienced California accident lawyer to discuss your case and your legal options. 

How Much Does a Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Cost?

In California, most personal injury law firms work on a contingency fee basis, so you won’t pay any upfront costs. Upon winning your case, the attorney will take around 33% to satisfy the work they’ve done for you. The rest goes to the plaintiff.

Our law office also works to place all of your medical bills on a lien so that you can pay them after the case is won. Our legal team also works very hard to negotiate reducing your medical and hospital bills so that you keep more.

What Evidence is Needed to Convict a Hit and Run in California?

For a criminal case, the evidence needed is straightforward. 

  • Eyewitness testimony – If witnesses saw the driver strike the victim and then flee the scene without stopping or providing aid, their testimony can help identify and convict the driver.
  • Video footage – Security or dashcam footage that captures the incident and shows the license plate or other identifying details about the fleeing vehicle can be beneficial evidence.
  • Physical evidence – Damage to the suspect’s vehicle that matches the details of the incident, biological evidence like hair or blood connecting the victim to the suspect’s car, or traces of paint from the victim’s vehicle left on the suspect’s car can link the suspect to the scene.
  • Confession – If the driver admits to fleeing after striking the victim, their confession can be compelling evidence of guilt.
  • Data evidence – Cell phone records or GPS data from the suspect’s phone or vehicle that puts them at the scene can also help establish involvement.
  • Breath or blood test – If the driver appeared intoxicated, results from the breathalyzer or blood tests showing they were over the legal limit for alcohol could support charges.

The prosecution has to prove the driver was involved beyond a reasonable doubt. The more evidence from this list they can gather, the stronger the case typically is for a hit and run criminal conviction. 

Civil elements of a hit and run case

Here are some key civil elements related to being a victim of a hit-and-run accident in California:

  • Negligence – The victim must prove the driver acted negligently by speeding, driving recklessly, or driving under the influence. This establishes they had a duty of care that they breached.
  • Damages – The victim can sue for both economic and non-economic damages. Economic include medical bills, lost wages, and property damage. Non-economic covers pain and suffering, emotional distress, and loss of companionship.
  • Causation – There must be a direct link between the driver’s actions and the victim’s injuries. The accident and injuries must have directly resulted from their breach of duty.
  • Identity – In a hit-and-run, the identity of the at-fault driver may not be known initially. The victim may need to hire investigators to determine the identity or file against an unnamed defendant first.
  • Strict liability – If the driver was on the job at the time, their employer may be held strictly liable for damages under respondeat superior laws.
  • Uninsured driver – If the driver is uninsured or underinsured, the victim may need to claim against their own UM/UIM coverage first.
  • Statute of limitations – Civil claims typically must be filed within two years of the accident in California, so victims should act fast.

Consulting with a hit and run injury attorney can help the victim fully understand their civil legal options and build the most robust case possible.

What is Considered a Hit and Run Case?

A hit and run is an accident involving the perpetrator causing an injury or property damage before leaving the accident scene. They will flee without waiting for police officers to attend and without identifying themselves.

Hit and run accidents in Orange County typically involve at least one vehicle. This could be a car, van, truck, bus, motorcycle, or any other vehicle.

The at-fault driver will cause a collision before fleeing the scene. Typical examples include:

  • A vehicle crashing into a pedestrian or cyclist
  • Crashes between two occupied vehicles
  • A vehicle crashing into a stationary object, such as a parked car, and fleeing
  • Intersection crash and fleeing the scene
  • Hit and run with death with fleeing

An Orange County hit and run lawyer is a plaintiff’s attorney. For us to get involved in a hit-and-run case, a victim must have suffered a physical injury. We fight to win compensation for the victim.

Hit and Run Accident in Orange County

Why do hit and run accidents happen? We can split the answer into two parts – why does the original accident happen, and why do people flee the scene when they know they have done something wrong?

To start with, auto accidents are common in and around Orange County. The most common causes include:

  • Distracted driving
  • Speeding
  • Reckless and careless driving
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI)
  • Driver fatigue
  • Lack of visibility (this can be weather-related or a problem with a road or intersection)
  • Mechanical fault
  • Pedestrians and cyclists in blind spots or unexpected areas

Most accidents involving vehicles are not intentional or malicious. They are accidental acts of negligence. However, when a driver then flees from the scene, they make a choice. As a result, it is an intentional act and a criminal action.

There are many reasons why people who run down a pedestrian or are involved in an accident flee from the scene. Reasons include:

  • Fear of getting into trouble with the law
  • Having pre-existing records
  • No insurance
  • Not wanting to deal with the outcome of their actions
  • A callous lack of caring
  • Decision-making is compromised by drug or alcohol use

Some of the cities that see the most hit and run accidents are:

  • Santa Ana
  • Irvine
  • Westminster
  • Fullerton
  • Anaheim

An experienced Orange County hit and run attorney at Bisnar Chase has seen and handled countless cases involving drivers leaving the scene. We ensure victims get the compensation they deserve, even when the driver did not care enough to stick around after an accident.

The following video is just one example of a deadly hit and run involving a pedestrian in Orange County.

California Hit and Run Statistics

Over 3.1 million people live in Orange County, which gets 50 million visitors annually. The roads are busy and congested, while some roadways and intersections can be hazardous. They may be poorly lit or provide poor visibility.

But, as we have shown, that is no excuse for leaving the scene of an accident. Unfortunately, hit and run crashes happen far more than many people realize.

  • According to data from the Transportation Injury Mapping System (TIMS) and California Highway Patrol, there were 11,951 car accidents in Orange County in 2021.
  • About 29% of all car crashes in California are hit-and-run incidents.
  • Statewide in 2020, hit-and-run crashes killed over 500 people and injured over 14,000 victims.
  • In Orange County, the average jail sentence for a hit-and-run conviction is six months. (Source: Orange County District Attorney).
  • In Orange County, the average restitution paid to victims of hit-and-run accidents is $20,000. (Source: Orange County District Attorney).
  • 1 in 5 of all pedestrian fatalities are hit-and-run incidents.
  • 60% of hit and runs involve pedestrians.
  • Southern California has the highest percentages of hit and runs in the entire country.
  • There were nearly 3,000 hit and runs resulting in fatalities in California from 2010 to 2019, causing 3,056 deaths.

Learn more about Orange County hit-and-run statistics.

Orange County Hit and Run Laws

According to California state hit-and-run laws, it is a felony to leave the scene of the accident.

California Vehicle Code Section 20001 (a) states that motorists must stop immediately, remain at the accident scene, exchange information with others, and assist injured victims.

If caught by the police, offenders are likely to face hit-and-run charges. These criminal charges are separate from the civil action you would take with our civil plaintiff’s attorneys.

In California, hit and run is generally considered a misdemeanor offense. However, there are some cases in which it may be charged as a felony.

For example, if the hit and run resulted in serious injury or death or the driver was using alcohol or drugs, it may be charged as a felony.

Here are the specific laws in California regarding hit and run:

  • Vehicle Code Section 20002: any driver involved in a collision resulting in injury or property damage must stop and provide their name, address, and vehicle registration information to the other driver(s) involved. Failure to do so is considered a misdemeanor.
  • Vehicle Code Section 20008: any driver involved in a collision that results in death must stop and provide their name, address, and vehicle registration information to the police. Failure to do so is considered a felony.

The penalties for a misdemeanor hit-and-run conviction can include up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a suspension of your driver’s license for up to 6 months. The penalties for a felony hit and run conviction can include up to 3 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, and a suspension of your driver’s license for up to 3 years.

If you’ve been the victim of a hit and run accident in Orange County, call us to find out how much financial compensation you may be entitled to. There is no fee if we don’t take your case and we advance all costs until the case is won. A top-rated hit and run lawyer may be able to ge you substantially more in your personal injury lawsuit.

Steps to Take After a Hit and Run in Orange County

You should take several steps after being involved in a hit and run in Orange County to boost your chances of finding justice.

  • Seek medical treatment: Many hit and run accidents result in serious injuries. Your priority should be your health. Call for help and take appropriate treatment steps, whether accepting emergency treatment or visiting a doctor as soon as possible.
  • Write down any details you have of the offender: Auto accidents can happen in a flash, and it can be nearly impossible to take in all relevant information in that split second. But do your best. If you can remember the vehicle manufacturer or model, the type of vehicle, and the color, can remember any of the license plate details, or got a look at the driver, write everything down. At the same time, it is fresh in your mind.
  • Contact the police: If the police were not called initially, make sure they are made aware of the incident. File a report and give officers any details you can.
  • Collect evidence: In most hit-and-run cases, the police will investigate. But it does not hurt to think about the evidence you can provide to help a legal claim. Speak to any eyewitnesses and take pictures of the accident scene and your injuries. You could even ask local premises about their CCTV footage if anyone captured the incident.
  • Contact a lawyer: The police will work on your case from a criminal case point of view. But you will also need a civil attorney to secure compensation. Contact our Orange County hit and run lawyer at Bisnar Chase before speaking to your insurance company to ensure you get the best possible guidance.

Compensation For a Hit and Run in Orange County?

The fact that the offending driver left the scene and their identity is unknown complicates the legal process. But it does not mean you cannot recover compensation for your injuries. There are two ways to do so.

  • The offending driver may be caught. Just because the person left the scene does not mean they will evade capture. After a hit-and-run accident, police officers will usually launch an appeal for information, releasing as many identifying details as possible. If police find the hit-and-run motorist, you may be able to file a claim against their insurance company for compensation, just as you would under normal circumstances.
  • UM insurance claim. If the hit and run driver is not located, do not worry. You may still be able to secure compensation. With the help of an attorney, you can file a claim with your own insurance company under your UM – which stands for uninsured motorist – if you have this coverage as part of your insurance policy.

You should take precautions not to discuss the accident with your insurance company before consulting an Orange County hit and run attorney so that you may preserve your rights.

Insurance companies will typically work toward their bottom lines and do not have your best interests in mind. An experienced personal injury attorney understands UM policies should guide the personal injury settlement process.

What is a UM Insurance Policy? (Uninsured Motorist)

The uninsured or underinsured coverage (UM/UIM) is a form of insurance you pay for as part of your own policy. It protects you when the at-fault driver in an accident has no insurance or their policy does not adequately cover the damages they caused.

If you cannot make a claim (or cannot recover all of the compensation you are due) through the negligent driver’s policy, you can instead claim through the UM/UIM portion of your own policy.

Ensuring that you have UM/UIM coverage in your policy gives you an avenue to claim compensation if you have sustained injuries in a hit-and-run accident.

In the case of a hit and run, whether as a pedestrian or in another vehicle, your UM coverage can cover medical costs and related expenses. Many people carry a UM clause in their insurance, but you should review your policy details to be sure. An attorney can help you review your policy and identify your rights.

You must ensure your own insurance company gives you a fair settlement. It is easy to assume that your insurance company is always working in your best interest, but that is not always true.

Remember, the insurance companies make money when they pay out fewer claims, so even if you are their customer, they’ll want to avoid paying the claim if possible. An Orange County hit and run lawyer can help you with this. Bisnar Chase has represented hit-and-run victims, both in vehicle and pedestrian accidents, for over four decades, winning over $800M.

Orange County Hit and Run Lawsuit FAQs

Read on for the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about hit and runs in Orange County. Our goal is to put your mind at ease and provide the guidance and superior representation you need after suffering an injury in a hit and run.

If you have unanswered questions, please get in touch with us for a free consultation with no obligations.

Yes – you need an Orange County hit and run lawyer on your side to make sure you get the compensation you deserve. Our attorneys will be able to help settle your case at maximum value, whether the offending driver is caught and can be sued or you have to deal with your own insurance company.

Sometimes, the police will be able to track down a hit-and-run driver, allowing you to make a claim against them. You will probably have to claim through your own insurance policy if the offender is not caught. You should be able to do so if you have uninsured motorist coverage within your policy.

You should immediately look for your case’s best hit and run attorney. The law firm you choose will monitor any ongoing police investigation into the accident and assess your insurance policy for UM coverage. Our attorneys have handled plenty of hit-and-run cases across Orange County and will provide the superior representation that you need.

UM benefits are typically handled outside of a courtroom. A third-party arbitrator will decide the case, and there are generally no appeals. You, your insurance company, and the arbitrator will come to an agreement. You still reserve the right to sue the at-fault individual in court for your injuries (if they are located). However, if they have no assets or insurance that may be difficult.

At Bisnar Chase, we offer a free consultation and a no win no fee promise. This system allows us to help anyone, no matter how much money they have. We protect you from out-of-pocket expenses and only get paid if we win for you.

Common Injuries After a Hit and Run

Depending on how the victim was hit, and the accident’s severity, frequent injuries in a hit-and-run can change. Nonetheless, a few of the most frequent injuries are:

  • Whiplash: The head is suddenly flung back and forth, resulting in a neck injury. Whiplash can happen in other kinds of accidents, although it is frequently brought on by rear-end collisions.
  • Injuries to the head: Mild concussions to severe traumatic brain injuries are all possible head traumas (TBIs). Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs) can be fatal and result in long-term cognitive and physical problems.
  • Broken bones: All kinds of car accidents, including hit-and-runs, frequently result in broken bones. Legs, ribs, arms, wrists, ankles, and thigh bones are often broken in hit-and-run accidents.
  • Sprains and strains: Muscles, tendons, and ligaments can become injured by strains and sprains. They frequently result from abrupt twisting or bending movements.
  • Bruises and lacerations: Bruises are brought on by bleeding beneath the skin, whereas lacerations are incisions. Several incidents, including hit-and-runs, frequently result in lacerations and severe bruising.

Victims of hit-and-run accidents may also experience emotional discomfort, such as anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and depression, in addition to these physical injuries.

Even if you don’t think your injuries are significant, you should seek medical assistance immediately if you have been hurt in a hit-and-run accident. Certain wounds, like whiplash and TBIs, might not be immediately noticeable. 

Contact the Best Orange County Hit and Run Attorney Near Me

Contact Bisnar Chase now to speak with our specialist intake team. We provide a free consultation that carries no obligations to proceed with us. Call us and get a feel for your options and whether our firm is right for you.

Being involved in a hit and run in Orange County can leave victims feeling frustrated and helpless on top of their injuries. But we are here to fight for the compensation you deserve, whether the perpetrator is caught or not.

Bisnar Chase is a premier personal injury law firm based in Newport Beach, Orange County. We have:

  • A 99% success rate.
  • Won more than $800 million for our clients.
  • Unparalleled knowledge of the local courts and legal system.
  • Experience with cases like yours.
  • Dedication to providing the best possible customer experience.
  • A no win no fee system, advancing all costs.

Do not suffer in silence or take on the insurance companies alone. If you have sustained a hit-and-run injury in Orange County, our team of experts is here to help.

Contact an Orange County hit-and-run lawyer nearby at Bisnar Chase today. Send us an email through our website and our team will get back to you as soon as possible. You can also use our 24/7 live chat, or call (949) 203-3814.

Case Results

  • 1

    $117,500,000

    Consumer Class Action

  • 2

    $38,650,000

    Motor Vehicle Accident

  • 3

    $32,698,073

    Auto Defect – Seat Manufacturers, Johnson Controls

  • 4

    $30,000,000

    Motorcycle Accident

  • 5

    $24,744,764

    Defective Seatback

  • 6

    $16,444,904

    Bicycle Accident

Client Reviews

Bisnar Chase Review - Natalie

I’m so impressed with this law firm. I lost my mother because of a seat defect when she was rear-ended in an auto accident and Bisnar Chase stepped up and took our case. The staff is wonderful and Brian Chase took his time explaining everything via phone with me. I’m honored to have the best of the best working on our family’s behalf, trying to get justice for my Mom, because of a negligent car company still manufacturing faulty seats. I look forward to working with this firm and am hopeful for a positive outcome. Thank you so much, Brian Chase. I know you will work your hardest on this case. God Bless you.

Natalie C.
Bisnar Chase Reviews

Bisnar Chase has been amazing with me through my lawsuit. I felt real compassion for my case and I was given their very best to make sure I was well taken care of. In addition to the great service given during my case, Bisnar Chase helped me get my son to his invited USA Football Team camp in Texas. They immediately offered to help fund the trip and are so supportive of his journey. I felt Kristi is just as excited for him as I am with this opportunity. Kristi has been an absolute delight to talk with. Bisnar Chase is more than I ever expected I could get in an attorney. I would recommend them to anyone!

Christina Del Real
Bisnar Chase Google Review

I had an attorney for my truck accident who wanted almost 60% of what my case was worth. Worse than that, he was willing to settle for $5,000.00 with the insurance company even though I was still treating for whiplash and back pain. I contacted Bisnar Chase Personal Injury Attorneys because a friend recommended them. My case was handled exceptionally well! I was being kept notified throughout the whole process and only when I was comfortable with the settlement figure, did my attorney Gavin Long, accept it. I felt like we were working together and I felt listened to. I would refer Bisnar Chase to anyone who wants quality over quantity!

Lauren B
Bisnar Chase Google Review

Great people in this office, everyone was really helpful explaining everything. I was referred by my aunt for my car accident in October and the case went pretty fast. No problems and very professional. I was kept in the loop thru the whole process and was able to get a better settlement than my insurance company said I would. I can’t really compare them to other law firms because it was the first time I had to use an attorney, but my bad experience with the car accident was handled as well as I could have hoped.

P. Montgomery

Bisnar Chase Personal Injury Attorneys, LLP

1301 Dove St. STE 120, Newport Beach, CA 92660

949-203-3814

Have a Question that wasn’t answered here?