Here Are the New California Traffic Laws That Went into Effect on July 1
Several new traffic-safety related laws went into effect in California starting Sunday, July1. Many of these laws largely have an impact on drivers for hire, buses and private carriers. But, it’s a good idea for everyone to know what these laws are and how they affect us all.
Laws Aimed at Safety
Child Seat Restraints: Senate Bill 20, which was signed into law requires children between the ages of 8 and 15 who are riding a bus to be secured with an appropriate restraint such as a seatbelt, which complies with federal safety standards. All passengers in buses that are equipped with restraints are required to wear them under this law. According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, this law is aimed at reducing the number of highway deaths and injuries as a result of bus accidents. Violators will face fines.
DUI Laws for Rideshare Drivers: Assembly Bill 2687 changed the DUI threshold of drivers who operate rideshare vehicles such as Uber and Lyft to 0.04 percent from 0.08 percent, bringing them into the category of commercial vehicle drivers. The DMV said this change was made to hold these rideshare drivers to a higher standard as all drivers of commercial vehicles are. Under this law, the driver’s license would be suspended by the DMV if a conviction is added to his or her record.
Proof of liability insurance: Senate Bill 19 requires private carriers (those defined as not-for hire transportation services) such as church vans or employee shuttles to carry proof of liability insurance. The California Highway Patrol will enforce safety compliance for these vehicles and ensure that they are being safely operated. The law transfers the regulatory authority of these vehicles from the California Carriers of Passengers Program to the DMV and the state’s Public Utilities Commission. The goal of this new law is to ensure that private carriers are operating in a safe manner while carrying adequate insurance coverage.
If You Have Been Injured
If you or a loved one has been injured in any type of commercial vehicle accident or rideshare vehicle accident, you may be entitled to receive compensation for your injuries, damages and losses. You may be able to seek compensation for damages such as medical expenses, loss of wages, hospitalization, rehabilitation, permanent injuries, pain and suffering and emotional distress. An experienced California car accident lawyer will be able to fight for your rights and help you seek and obtain maximum compensation for your losses.